#AsianLitBingo TBR

bingo header

Created by Shenwei at READING (AS)(I)AM (AM)ERICA and co-hosted by Asian bloggers, #AsianLitBingo is a month-long reading challenge. The goal is to spotlight Asian literature and writers, preferably #ownvoices, and it’s sorely needed. Read up on all the specifics and requirements here!

bingo free

Gorgeous art by Aentee at Read at Midnight

I’ve already got a ton of new-to-me works for my tbr thanks to the hosts’ list and twitter, but I did my best to decide on a tbr. Choosing a line for the bingo was so hard! Anyway here’s what I hope I’ll manage to read:

starfang

Starfang: Rise of the Clan by Joyce Chng  gr-pic

Joyce’s newest for SFF with an Asian MC. It’s a space opera with werewolves! Will add specifics re ethnicity if I find out, the author is Singaporean.

body at the tower

The Agency: The Body at the Tower by Y. S. Lee  gr-pic

I’ve read the first Agency novel in my quest to find more diverse mysteries and enjoyed it. Set in Victorian England with a multiracial Asian MC (Chinese father I think) for fans of the era but with more diversity and less celebration of empire. For Historical Fiction with Asian MC. The author is Singaporean-Canadian.

FREE SPACE

I’m not sure yet which one I want to read for this square, but I’m a total mood reader so it’s good to have options. I got these here waiting to be read, and I might go with more queer lit and/or more SFF.

when fox

When Fox is a Thousand by Larissa Lai  gr-pic

For retelling with Asian MC, I’m planning on reading this retelling of the myth of the fox. Think this has a Chinese-Canadian MC and a Chinese MC as well as a lesbian relationship.

inheritance

The Inheritance by Sahar Khalifeh  gr-pic

For Contemporary with Asian MC, I’m planning on reading The Inheritance, about Zeynab and Palestinian women’s stories of return to Palestine after the Oslo Accords. MC is Palestinian, the author is Palestinian-American.

*****

Are you participating in #AsianLitBingo? What’s on your tbr?

19 thoughts on “#AsianLitBingo TBR

  1. Hi Bina! I’m so happy to hear that you’re participating in #AsianLitBingo! I hope you have a great time reading with us. I love your book choices, especially Seven Tears at Hide Tide, which was one of my favourite books of last year. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good picks Bina! I wish I could participate, but I’m swamped with my TBR, plus I need to finish the few review copies I have since I’m behind. But hopefully this time next year I can join in! “The Agency” looks particularly good since I love historical ficition. Gook luck with your reading bingo! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Greetings, Bina! I can’t commit to participating with only 3 weeks left in May, but I think I’ll use the “#Asian Lit Bingo” challenges to broaden my reading for 2017. I recently read Shelter by Jung Yun, in which the main character is of Korean heritage; that could qualify as either “central Asian MC” or “contemporary Asian MC.” ….Thanks for sharing your picks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay glad you loved it! Need to check out your tbr Even though that’s dangerous for my TBR 😁📚📚📚 How cool it’s in Verse? I did love Brown Girl Dreaming, so I might even enjoy the Verse Format.

      Like

    1. Yay glad you like it, Heidi! Sorry for being so late in replying, I always post all links on the blog’s Facebook page. Hope your librarian friends found great Asian(Am) lit to read 😊📚

      Like

  4. Love that I can always find new books I’ve never heard of before on your lists Bina! I am especially drawn to When Fox is a Thousand! I would be interested in hearing your thoughts on it. Will you be reviewing the books you read for Asian Lit Bingo? Or doing some type of wrap-up? If so, I’ll keep my eye out for it!

    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thanks, always glad to promote these books 😊 When Fox starts of great, hope I manage to review and gush about it! I’ll definitely post a wrap up, and hopefully another post with Mini reviews 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Your TBR for this challenge is wonderful! & I’ve loved taking a look around the rest of your blog too.

    I’m reading A Time to Dance for the challenge as well and I’ve heard great things! Also, I read A Tale for the Time Being last summer and absolutely adored it. I really hope you do too, I thought it was beautiful. The Agency looks super fun too so even though I posted my TBR yesterday I’m going to have to look into it, haha.

    Good luck with all your reads! I hope you enjoy them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Kyla!😊 Yay glad to hear you loved A Tale! I still have to get to that one, May needs to be longer!
      Haha always happy to add to the tbr😁 Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

