R.EADERS I.MBIBING P.ERIL – #RIPXII

rip7

I am so so late, but still, I had to sign up for R.I.P. VII which is one of my favorite challenges! ‘Tis the season, the creepy season! 🙂 I love fall and I love creepy reads! I got a ton of candles, thick quilts and hot tea! Also, the weather is perfect, rainy and windy and gloomy, so bring it! And even if I’m not up to a lot of things these days, I still wanna at least participate in R.I.P. and mayyybe finally get over my blogging slump. Fingers crossed!

R.I.P. runs from September 1 through October 31 and is the brainchild of Carl from Stainless Steel Droppings, who has now passed the torch to awesome Heather and Andi. The goal is to read books from these genres: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Dark Fantasy, Gothic, Horror, Supernatural.

As usual, I will do Peril the First, that is read four books from the R.I.P. genres. Of course I will also pick diverse books, mostly by women writers of color. Here’s what’s on my tbr so far:

 

1. Forever Vacancy: A Colors in Darkness Anthology
by Colors in Darkness, Kenya Moss-Dyme, Eden Royce, Mya Lairis.

forvervacancy

“Colors in Darkness, the premiere online site for dark fiction authors of color presents its first anthology! Amid the upheaval of the 1960s, the Kretcher Motel opened in a poor, desolate part of Atlanta. It still serves its original purpose: to lure those souls who are lost, who are troubled, who are evil…to itself. Check in to view these thirteen dark tales of horror, betrayal, fear, and wickedness, all featuring characters of color. You may never want to leave.” (GR)

I’ve read a bit from this one, there are some amazing stories here, but I thought I might as well reread the, and try to put up a review for R.I.P. since I feel like it should be better known.

 

2.Gulab by Annie Zaidi.

gulab

“Gulab tests the limits that our mind sets upon a ghost’s powers. If you see her as a woman clinging to life, there is not much to fear. Yet: what if she wants to return to your life? And what makes you think you can make her leave?” (GR)

Okay the R.I.P. appropriate cover got me, but excited to try this author’s works.

3.Black Orchid Blues by Persia Walker

persia walker

“Lanie Price, a 1920s Harlem society columnist, witnesses the brutal nightclub kidnapping of the “Black Orchid,” a sultry, seductive singer with a mysterious past. When hours pass without a word from the kidnapper, puzzlement grows as to his motive. After a gruesome package arrives at Price’s doorstep, the questions change. Just what does the kidnapper want–and how many people is he willing to kill to get it?” (GR)

More #DiverseDetectives! Hope I’ll enjoy this one, cause it’s a series. This title is also available on Scribd btw.

 

4.The Bloodprint by Ausma Zehanat Khan

the bloodprint

“A dark power called the Talisman has risen in the land, born of ignorance and persecution. Led by a man known only known as the One-eyed Preacher, it is a cruel and terrifying movement bent on world domination—a superstitious patriarchy that suppresses knowledge and subjugates women. And it is growing.” (GR)

Ausma Zehanat Khan is writing epic fantasy now, I am so fucking excited! It’s waiting on my kindle, for my week of vacation soon!

 

Are you participating in the R.I.P. challenge? What’s on your list?

10 thoughts on “R.EADERS I.MBIBING P.ERIL – #RIPXII

  1. Yaayaayaay! Bina is back. 💖😆 The quilt and tea and the weather and the cats — they all sound perfect. I am sure they would help you to thrash the blogging-slump. Your list is dashing. I haven’t heard any of these books. But I am going to try grabbing one of these to exchange notes with you. Without knowing about RIP, I have been reading the monstrous ‘IT’. I have got 500 pages more and I am tired now. Your list can revive me. Thank you, Bina! 😍💖❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yayy🙌 Thanks so much Deepika💜 Heh I am trying, that slump won’t dare return! ✊😁
      Heh you should totally sign up, it’s Lots of Fun and you need only read 2 books I think, or short stories or do the movie challenge 😊
      Oh yay! But also, I can add another of you want to read sth not in my list! Buddy read Yess!👌 Howwww did you survive IT!?? That’s too scary for me 😁🙈

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to see you blogging again! I probably won’t be reading any of the books on this list (since horror is the only genre I won’t read). However, I was recently pleasantly surprised by a MG book called The Jumbies, having thought it was horror, and it turned out to be fantasy (with elements of dark fantasy).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😊 Yay so glad you ended up enjoying Jumbies! I’ve been reccing it to all non-horror readers 😁
      Btw R.I.P. doesn’t have to be horror 😊 I have fantasy and mystery books in this list too. It’s basically about reading suspenseful, fairy tale ish stuff too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this list!! I am halfway through Bloodprint, and the worldbuilding is a leeeetle dense, in that way that I often feel about the first book in an epic fantasy series. But I’m guessing that’ll improve as the series goes on, and I really do enjoy the worldbuilding and the concepts. It reminds me of the way she wrote about Iran in her most recent mystery.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yayyy🙌 I can only imagine, I’ll probably need to take notes, super detailed worldbuilding is still a bit overwhelming for me 🙈 But am very excited about the concepts and characters! 👌😊

      Like

  4. These all look fun and the second one looks really scary! I’ll look forward to reading your thoughts on them. I’m doing the two-book option. Reading Rebecca by Du Maurier and Be Buried in the Rain by Barbara Michaels. So I’m going Gothic for my RIP this year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

